In My Rainbow

2004-06-11 - 9:07 a.m.

I like recurring ideas and themes.

When I was a child I wasn't allowed to watch much TV and one of the only shows mommy approved was Today's Special, a kid's program filmed after hours at a Simpson's department store featuring Jodie, a lonely store display expert and her friends Jeff the mannequin, a rhyming mouse named Muffy and Sam the security guard.

A poignant episode was when the building was slated for demolition and the only way to save it was to prove that it was a heritage site. They all knew there had to be a plaque with the designation somewhere on site and searched frantically for it. They finally found it in Muffy's mouse hole.

Jodie rushes downtown with a picture of the plaque while the gang waits behind singing "Hurry Jodie get there! You've got to make it before 9, 9, 9, 9! You've got to make it before 9!" They sing this over and over again making the suspense unbearable for my brother and me.

Whenever I am rushing to get somewhere (which is always because I'm consistently running 10 minutes behind), I always have this song in my head. Edited of course with my name in place of Jodie.

back - forth

|now| |then |hi| |me| |photos| |pictures| |diaryland| |wiebesite| |myspace|































Site Meter